A-Tech vs OWC DDR4 RAMS: Which Brand Fits You?
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
This a tech vs OWC ddr4 RAM comparison looks at two distinct memory kits. Both offer non-ECC JEDEC-compliant modules backed by lifetime warranties. The main difference lies in their target hardware and capacity. A-Tech provides a high-capacity desktop kit with faster speeds, while OWC focuses on a lower-capacity laptop and iMac upgrade with standard speeds. You should choose based on your device type and memory needs.
Key differences
| Aspect | A-Tech 64GB DDR4 2666MHz Non-ECC | OWC 16GB DDR4 2400MHz SO-DIMM |
|---|---|---|
| Compatible Device | Desktop | iMac, PC Laptop, All-in-One, NAS |
| Form Factor | UDIMM (288-Pin) | SO-DIMM (260-Pin) |
| Memory Speed | 2666MHz | 2400MHz |
| Kit Size | 64GB (4x16GB) | 16GB (2x8GB) |
| CAS Latency | CL19 | not listed |
Which one should you choose?
Choose A-Tech 64GB DDR4 2666MHz Non-ECC if
- You need a large 64GB capacity for desktop multitasking
- You are building or upgrading a standard desktop computer
- You want faster memory speeds at 2666MHz
Choose OWC 16GB DDR4 2400MHz SO-DIMM if
- You are upgrading a laptop, iMac, or small form factor PC
- You require SO-DIMM modules instead of standard DIMMs
- You need a simpler 16GB upgrade for basic performance boosts
Verdict: Choose the A-Tech kit if you are upgrading a desktop PC and need high capacity and speed. Select the OWC memory if you are upgrading a laptop or iMac, as it uses the correct SO-DIMM form factor. Your device's socket type is the primary deciding factor here.
A-Tech vs OWC DDR4 RAM Comparison
Compatible Device
The target hardware for these kits could not be more different. The A-Tech module is explicitly designed for desktop computers, using the standard UDIMM form factor. This makes it suitable for traditional towers and desktop workstations. In contrast, the OWC kit uses SO-DIMM modules, which are smaller and intended for laptops, iMacs, and All-in-One computers. The product data lists specific compatibility with 2017 iMac models and various PC notebooks. If you are building or upgrading a desktop tower, the A-Tech kit is the only viable option. For a portable laptop or an iMac, you must choose the OWC SO-DIMM kit to ensure physical fit and electrical compatibility.
Memory Speed
Speed is a key differentiator between these two memory kits. The A-Tech DDR4 module runs at 2666 MHz, which is classified as PC4-21300 or PC4-2666V. This higher clock speed allows for faster data transfer rates within the system bus. The OWC kit operates at a slower 2400 MHz speed, identified as PC4-19200. While both speeds are standard for their respective eras, the A-Tech kit offers a performance head start in raw bandwidth. For tasks that benefit from higher memory throughput, the faster A-Tech modules provide a measurable advantage. However, the OWC speed is sufficient for the laptop and iMac environments it supports.
Total Capacity
Capacity determines how much data your system can hold in active memory. The A-Tech kit provides a substantial 64GB of RAM, configured as four 16GB modules. This large capacity is ideal for heavy multitasking, virtualization, or professional video editing on a desktop. The OWC kit offers a more modest 16GB total, made up of two 8GB modules. While 16GB is adequate for general office work and media consumption on a laptop, it is significantly less than the A-Tech offering. If your workflow requires large datasets or many open applications, the A-Tech 64GB kit provides much more room to breathe.
CAS Latency
CAS Latency (CL) measures the delay before data is accessed. The A-Tech kit specifies a CL19 latency at its 2666 MHz speed. The OWC kit data does not explicitly list its CAS Latency value. However, standard JEDEC specifications for 2400 MHz DDR4 typically involve a CL15 or CL17 timing. Without the specific OWC value, we cannot make a precise comparison. Generally, lower latency is better, but it often correlates with lower speeds. Since the OWC speed is lower, its absolute latency in nanoseconds might be comparable or slightly higher. The lack of explicit timing data for the OWC kit makes this a neutral comparison based on available facts.
ECC Support
Error Correction Code (ECC) memory detects and fixes data corruption, which is critical for servers and workstations handling sensitive data. Both the A-Tech and OWC kits are specified as Non-ECC. The A-Tech data clearly states it is Non-ECC Unbuffered. The OWC features also confirm it is Non-ECC and Non-registered. This means neither kit is suitable for systems that require ECC memory for data integrity. For standard consumer desktops and laptops, Non-ECC is the norm and provides full compatibility. Since both products share this specification, there is no advantage for either brand in this category.
Which RAM kit fits your system needs?
Desktop users needing high capacity and speed
You should choose this A-Tech kit if you run a desktop tower. It offers 64GB total capacity across four 16GB modules, which handles heavy multitasking well. The 2666MHz speed is faster than the OWC option. It uses standard UDIMM form factor for easy installation in compatible desktop computers without requiring special expertise.
Mac or laptop owners seeking reliable upgrades
Select this OWC memory if you own a 2017 iMac or similar laptop. It uses SO-DIMM form factor, which is required for these compact devices. The 16GB capacity (two 8GB sticks) meets standard upgrade needs for older Apple models. It is fully compliant with JEDEC specifications and includes lifetime warranty support for peace of mind.
Budget-conscious users with basic desktop needs
This A-Tech module provides a cost-effective way to expand desktop memory significantly. With 64GB of storage, it outpaces smaller kits for future-proofing. The non-ECC unbuffered design ensures compatibility with standard consumer desktops. You get straightforward JEDEC DDR4 standards at 1.2V, making it a practical choice for users who need ample space for large applications.
The products compared
A-Tech 64GB DDR4 2666MHz Non-ECC
Best for: Heavy multitasking and large datasets
- Total Capacity
- 64GB
- Memory Speed
- 2666 MHz
- CAS Latency
- CL19
- Voltage
- 1.2V
- Module Configuration
- 4x16GB
- Form Factor
- UDIMM
View on Amazon: A-Tech 64GB DDR4 2666MHz Non-ECC Affiliate link
This A-Tech kit provides 64GB of DDR4 memory across four 16GB modules. It runs at 2666MHz with PC4-21300 speed and CL19 latency. The non-ECC unbuffered design fits standard desktop UDIMM slots. You get high capacity for heavy multitasking. The 1.2V voltage ensures standard power efficiency. It is ideal for users needing maximum system memory.
Pros
- 64GB total capacity in a 4x16GB configuration
- 2666MHz speed for solid data transfer rates
- Standard 1.2V voltage for energy efficiency
- Non-ECC unbuffered design for desktop compatibility
Cons
- CL19 latency is slower than higher-end kits
- Requires four slots, leaving no room for expansion
- Multicolor heatspreader offers no aesthetic customization
Good fit if
- You need maximum RAM capacity for video editing
- You have a motherboard with four DIMM slots
- You prioritize capacity over clock speed
Skip if
- You require non-ECC memory for servers
- You need faster 3200MHz or higher speeds
- You only have two DIMM slots available
Verdict: A-Tech 64GB DDR4 2666MHz Desktop RAM is a high-capacity solution for users who need to run many applications simultaneously. It fits best in desktops with four available memory slots.
OWC 16GB DDR4 2400MHz SO-DIMM
Best for: 2017 iMac and laptop memory upgrades
- Total Capacity
- 16GB
- Memory Speed
- 2400MHz
- Voltage
- 1.2 Volts
- Module Configuration
- 2X 8GB
- Form Factor
- SO-DIMM
- ECC Support
- Non-ECC
View on Amazon: OWC 16GB DDR4 2400MHz SO-DIMM Affiliate link
This OWC kit provides 16 GB of DDR4 memory in two 8 GB SO-DIMM sticks. It runs at 2400 MHz with a 1.2 Volt rating. The modules are non-registered and non-ECC. They fit select 2017 iMac models and various PC laptops. You get a lifetime limited warranty with advanced replacement support. This spec-focused upgrade boosts system performance for compatible machines.
Pros
- 16 GB total capacity in a 2 x 8 GB configuration
- 2400 MHz DDR4 speed for improved multitasking
- Lifetime limited warranty with advanced replacement program
- Non-ECC and non-registered design for standard compatibility
- 1.2 Volt power rating for efficient operation
Cons
- Lower 2400 MHz speed compared to 2666 MHz alternatives
- Limited to SO-DIMM form factor for laptops and small form factor PCs
- Specific compatibility limited to select 2017 iMac models and certain PCs
Good fit if
- You own a 2017 iMac needing a 16 GB upgrade
- You require non-ECC SO-DIMM memory for a compatible laptop
- You want a lifetime warranty with advanced replacement support
Skip if
- You need higher 2666 MHz or faster memory speeds
- You are upgrading a desktop PC requiring standard UDIMM sticks
- You require ECC registered memory for server workloads
Verdict: OWC 16GB DDR4 2400MHz SO-DIMM is a solid choice for 2017 iMac owners or laptop users needing reliable 16 GB upgrades. It suits those prioritizing warranty coverage and specific compatibility over higher clock speeds.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | A-Tech 64GB DDR4 2666MHz Non-ECC | OWC 16GB DDR4 2400MHz SO-DIMM |
|---|---|---|
| Total Capacity | 64GB | 16GB |
| Memory Speed | 2666 MHz | 2400MHz |
| CAS Latency | CL19 | not stated |
| Voltage | 1.2V | 1.2 Volts |
| Module Configuration | 4x16GB | 2X 8GB |
| Form Factor | UDIMM | SO-DIMM |
| ECC Support | Non-ECC | Non-ECC |
| Compatible Device | Desktop | Mac |
| Size | 64GB Kit (4 x 16GB) | 16GB |
| Dimensions | 5.25 × 1.23 × 0.15 inches | 7.01 × 5 × 1.02 inches |
| Weight | not stated | 0.81 ounces |
| Color | Multicolor | 2 x 8GB |
| Model | AT16G4D4D2666NA0N12V | OWC2400DDR4S16P |
Frequently asked questions
Can I use A-Tech DDR4 in my laptop?
No, you cannot use this kit in a laptop. The A-Tech 64GB module uses the UDIMM form factor, which is designed exclusively for desktop computers. Laptops require SO-DIMM modules, which are smaller. You must check your device's manual to confirm the correct form factor before purchasing any memory upgrades.
Does the OWC kit support ECC?
The provided data does not explicitly state ECC support for the OWC kit. However, the A-Tech kit is clearly listed as Non-ECC. Most consumer DDR4 modules for iMacs and laptops are Non-ECC. You should verify the specific model number in your system documentation to ensure compatibility with your hardware requirements.
Which RAM has a faster clock speed?
The A-Tech kit has a faster clock speed. It operates at 2666MHz, while the OWC kit runs at 2400MHz. Higher speeds generally allow data to transfer more quickly between the memory and the processor. This makes the A-Tech option better for performance-heavy desktop tasks compared to the OWC upgrade.
Is the A-Tech RAM a single stick or a kit?
The A-Tech RAM is sold as a kit. It contains four 16GB modules, totaling 64GB of capacity. This configuration requires a motherboard with four available memory slots to install all modules simultaneously. You cannot purchase this specific high-capacity configuration as a single stick of memory.
What is the best use case for the OWC 16GB kit?
The OWC 16GB kit is best for upgrading 2017 iMacs or laptops. It uses the SO-DIMM form factor, which fits into these smaller devices. This kit is ideal if you need a reliable 16GB upgrade for older Apple hardware or portable computers that require compact memory modules.
Can I mix A-Tech and OWC RAM in one system?
You should not mix these kits in a single system. They have different form factors, speeds, and capacities. The A-Tech kit is for desktops, while the OWC kit is for laptops and iMacs. Mixing different brands or types can cause instability or prevent the system from booting correctly.
How much total memory does the A-Tech kit provide?
The A-Tech kit provides 64GB of total memory. It consists of four 16GB modules installed together. This high capacity is suitable for heavy multitasking and handling large datasets on desktop computers. It is significantly larger than the 16GB capacity offered by the OWC kit.

