As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

A-Tech vs OWC DDR5 RAMs: Which Brand Fits You?

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

This a tech vs OWC ddr5 RAM comparison looks at two 32GB DDR5 SODIMM kits for laptops. Both run at 4800MHz with 1.1V and Non-ECC support. The main difference is configuration. A-Tech offers a single 32GB stick. OWC provides two 16GB sticks. You need to check your system slots. Single-stick kits fit in systems with one slot. Dual-stick kits require two available slots. Both meet JEDEC standards.

Key differences

AspectA-Tech 32GB DDR5 4800MHz CL40 SODIMMOWC 32GB DDR5 4800MHz SODIMM
Kit Configuration1 x 32GB2 x 16GB
Rank2Rx8 (Dual Rank)1Rx8 (Single Rank)
CAS LatencyCL40CL40
ColorMulticolorBlack Chips
WarrantyLimited Lifetime WarrantyLimited Lifetime Warranty

Which one should you choose?

Choose A-Tech 32GB DDR5 4800MHz CL40 SODIMM if

  • You have a laptop with only one SODIMM slot.
  • You prefer a dual-rank module for potentially better bandwidth in specific workloads.
  • You want a single module to simplify installation in a single-slot device.

Choose OWC 32GB DDR5 4800MHz SODIMM if

  • Your laptop has two SODIMM slots and you want to use both.
  • You prefer a single-rank configuration which can sometimes be more stable at higher speeds.
  • You want to replace a specific Crucial kit directly with a compatible alternative.

Verdict: Choose the A-Tech kit if your system has only one memory slot or you specifically need a dual-rank module. Choose the OWC kit if your laptop has two slots and you want to populate both for dual-channel performance. Both kits offer identical base speeds and voltage ratings.

A-Tech vs OWC DDR5 SODIMM Specs

Kit Configuration

Edge: A-Tech 32GB DDR5 4800MHz CL40 SODIMM

A-Tech offers a single 32GB module. This design uses one slot on your laptop motherboard. It is ideal if you only have one available memory slot or want to save slots for future upgrades. OWC provides a dual-channel kit with two 16GB modules. This configuration fills two slots. Dual-channel mode can improve bandwidth for certain workloads. You must check your device to see if it has two free slots for the OWC kit. The A-Tech single stick is more flexible for limited hardware.

Memory Speed

Edge: Tie

Both kits run at 4800MHz. This speed is defined by the JEDEC standard for DDR5. A-Tech lists PC5-38400, which matches the 4800MHz rate. OWC also lists PC5-38400. This means both modules operate at the same base frequency. There is no difference in speed between the two options. Your system will run both at this rate unless your motherboard supports higher speeds. The performance impact will be identical for both kits in terms of bandwidth provided by the speed rating.

CAS Latency

Edge: Tie

A-Tech specifies a CAS Latency of CL40. This timing value indicates how long it takes for the memory to respond to a command. The product data for OWC does not explicitly list the CAS Latency in the key specs or attributes. However, the title mentions CL40. Assuming both use CL40, there is no difference in latency. If OWC uses a different timing, it is not stated in the provided data. For now, we treat them as equal in terms of stated latency parameters.

Voltage

Edge: Tie

Both kits operate at 1.1V. This is the standard voltage for DDR5 memory. A-Tech explicitly lists 1.1V in its key specs. OWC also lists 1.1V in its features. Lower voltage can contribute to slightly better power efficiency and heat management compared to older DDR4 standards. Since both use the same voltage, there is no advantage for either brand regarding power consumption or thermal output based on this spec alone.

ECC Support

Edge: Tie

Both kits are Non-ECC. Error Correcting Code is not supported. This is standard for most consumer laptops and desktops. A-Tech lists Non-ECC Unbuffered. OWC also lists Non-ECC. Unbuffered means the memory does not have a register to buffer the address and command signals. This is typical for SODIMM modules in consumer devices. Neither kit offers ECC, so they are suitable for the same range of non-server applications.

Form Factor

Edge: Tie

Both kits use the 262-pin SO-DIMM form factor. This is the standard size for laptop memory. A-Tech specifies 262-pin SO-DIMM. OWC also specifies 262-pin. This ensures compatibility with most laptops, mini PCs, and all-in-one computers that use DDR5 SO-DIMM slots. The physical dimensions are similar, though A-Tech lists specific height and width. OWC does not provide physical dimensions in the data. Both fit the same slot type.

Which DDR5 RAM Kit Fits Your Needs

Single slot laptop users with limited expansion

Our pick: A-Tech 32GB DDR5 4800MHz CL40 SODIMM

The A-Tech module is a single 32GB stick. This fits laptops with only one free SO-DIMM slot. You get high capacity without needing two open slots. The 1.1V voltage and 4800MHz speed match standard DDR5 requirements. It is a direct drop-in replacement for systems that cannot accommodate dual-channel kits.

Users seeking dual-channel performance and support

Our pick: OWC 32GB DDR5 4800MHz SODIMM

The OWC kit contains two 16GB modules. This enables dual-channel memory bandwidth for better multitasking. The 262-pin SODIMM form factor ensures compatibility with most laptops. You also get a limited lifetime warranty and free tech support from OWC. This setup maximizes throughput if your motherboard supports two memory slots.

Budget-conscious upgraders needing simple installation

Our pick: A-Tech 32GB DDR5 4800MHz CL40 SODIMM

A-Tech offers a straightforward single-module solution. You install one stick to double your system memory instantly. The CL40 latency and 4800MHz speed are standard for DDR5. This kit avoids the complexity of matching two sticks. It is ideal for quick upgrades where slot availability is limited or cost efficiency is your primary goal.

The products compared

A-Tech 32GB DDR5 4800MHz CL40 SODIMM

Best for: Laptop and mini PC upgrades

Capacity
32GB
Memory Speed
4800MHz
CAS Latency
CL40
Kit Configuration
1 x 32GB
Form Factor
262-Pin SO-DIMM
Voltage
1.1V

View on Amazon: A-Tech 32GB DDR5 4800MHz CL40 SODIMM Affiliate link

This A-Tech module provides 32GB of DDR5 memory in a single stick. It runs at 4800MHz with a CL40 latency and operates at 1.1V. The 262-pin SO-DIMM form factor fits laptops, mini PCs, and all-in-one computers. It is non-ECC and unbuffered. This kit increases system resources to reduce bottlenecks. It suits users who need a straightforward upgrade for compatible portable or compact devices without requiring specialized error-correction features.

Pros

  • 32GB single-module capacity for high memory headroom
  • DDR5 4800MHz speed for modern system compatibility
  • Standard 1.1V voltage for efficient power usage
  • 262-pin SO-DIMM form factor fits compact devices

Cons

  • Non-ECC configuration lacks error correction for data integrity
  • CL40 latency is standard but not optimized for high performance
  • Single stick limits dual-channel bandwidth potential

Good fit if

  • You need a 32GB upgrade for a laptop or mini PC
  • You want a single-stick solution for easy installation
  • You require standard non-ECC DDR5 memory

Skip if

  • You need ECC memory for server or workstation stability
  • You want to maximize dual-channel performance with matched pairs
  • You require higher speeds than 4800MHz

Verdict: A-Tech 32GB DDR5 4800MHz SODIMM offers solid capacity for laptops and mini PCs. It is a practical choice for users prioritizing storage space over error correction or high-speed latency.

OWC 32GB DDR5 4800MHz SODIMM

Best for: Laptop upgrades needing lifetime warranty support

Capacity
32GB
Memory Speed
4800MHz
CAS Latency
CL40
Kit Configuration
2x16GB
Form Factor
262-pin SODIMM
Voltage
1.1V

View on Amazon: OWC 32GB DDR5 4800MHz SODIMM Affiliate link

This OWC kit provides 32GB of DDR5 memory in two 16GB modules. It runs at 4800MHz with PC5-38400 speed and CL40 latency. The 262-pin SODIMM form factor fits laptops and small systems. It uses 1.1V and is Non-ECC. The modules are JEDEC-compliant and designed to meet OEM specs. You get a limited lifetime warranty and free tech support from OWC.

Pros

  • 32GB total capacity (2x16GB modules)
  • DDR5 4800MHz speed
  • Limited lifetime warranty
  • Free tech support included

Cons

  • Lower 4800MHz speed compared to faster DDR5 options
  • Higher CL40 latency
  • Only 16GB per stick

Good fit if

  • You need a reliable upgrade for a laptop
  • You want a lifetime warranty
  • You prefer JEDEC-standard compatibility

Skip if

  • You need speeds above 4800MHz
  • You require ECC memory
  • You want 32GB in a single stick

Verdict: OWC 32GB DDR5 4800MHz SODIMM is a stable, warranty-backed choice for users who prioritize reliability and support over raw speed benchmarks. It fits well in systems where JEDEC compliance is essential.

Specifications side by side

Spec A-Tech 32GB DDR5 4800MHz CL40 SODIMM OWC 32GB DDR5 4800MHz SODIMM
Capacity 32GB 32GB
Memory Speed 4800MHz 4800MHz
CAS Latency CL40 CL40
Kit Configuration 1 x 32GB 2x16GB
Form Factor 262-Pin SO-DIMM 262-pin SODIMM
Voltage 1.1V 1.1V
ECC Support Non-ECC Unbuffered Non-ECC
Compatible Device PC, Laptop not stated
Dimensions 2.74 × 1.18 × 0.15 inches not stated
Size 32GB (1 x 32GB) not stated
Color Multicolor Black Chips
Model AT32G1D5S4800ND8N11V OWC4S8D51R8032P-B926-SF

Frequently asked questions

Does A-Tech DDR5 RAM include heat spreaders?

The A-Tech module does not list a heat spreader in its specifications. It features a slim profile measuring 0.15 inches in height. This low height helps it fit into tight laptop spaces without clearance issues. The design prioritizes compactness over active cooling solutions.

Is OWC memory better for dual-channel performance?

Yes, the OWC kit uses two 16GB sticks. This configuration enables dual-channel operation on compatible systems. Dual-channel mode doubles the data pathway width compared to single-channel. You gain better bandwidth for multitasking and heavy workloads when both slots are populated.

What is the CAS latency for these kits?

The A-Tech kit has a CAS latency of CL40. The OWC kit shares the same 4800MHz speed but does not list a specific latency value in its provided data. Both operate at standard JEDEC voltages. You should verify exact latency for the OWC unit with the manufacturer.

Can I use these RAM sticks in a desktop PC?

No, both kits use SODIMM form factors. SODIMM modules are designed for laptops and mini PCs. Desktop motherboards require standard DIMM sticks which are physically larger. You cannot install these SODIMM kits into a standard desktop motherboard slot.

Does either kit support ECC error correction?

No, both kits are Non-ECC. They lack the extra bits for error correction code memory. This is standard for consumer laptops and mini PCs. You do not need ECC for general use, but it is not available in these specific models.

Which brand offers a single high-capacity stick?

A-Tech offers a single 32GB stick. This is ideal if you only have one free memory slot on your motherboard. You get full capacity without needing to fill two slots. OWC provides two 16GB sticks instead of one large module.

See also