Apricorn vs Integral USB Flash Drives: Which Brand Fits You?
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
When you compare an apricorn vs integral USB flash drive, you are looking at two distinct approaches to secure storage. Both brands offer hardware-encrypted drives with 256-bit AES protection and government-approved security standards. The main difference lies in their connectivity and specific compliance levels. Apricorn focuses on the newer USB 3.1 standard with FIPS 140-2 Level 3 certification. Integral provides USB 3.0 speeds with FIPS 197 certification and includes automatic locking features. You need to decide which interface and security protocol best fit your workflow.
Key differences
| Aspect | Apricorn Aegis Secure Key 3NX Encrypted Drive | Integral Courier-197 Encrypted USB 3.0 Drive |
|---|---|---|
| USB Version | USB 3.1 | USB 3.0 |
| Security Standard | FIPS 140-2 Level 3 | FIPS 197 |
| Encryption Type | 256-Bit AES XTS | 256-Bit AES |
| Auto-Lock | not listed | Yes, on removal or screen saver |
Which one should you choose?
Choose Apricorn Aegis Secure Key 3NX Encrypted Drive if
- You need the faster USB 3.1 interface for data transfers.
- Your organization requires FIPS 140-2 Level 3 certification.
- You prefer the AES XTS encryption standard.
Choose Integral Courier-197 Encrypted USB 3.0 Drive if
- You want automatic locking when the drive is removed from the computer.
- You need protection against brute-force password attacks.
- You require FIPS 197 certification for compliance.
Verdict: Choose the Apricorn drive if you need the latest USB 3.1 speeds and the higher FIPS 140-2 Level 3 security rating. Select the Integral drive if you value automatic locking features and specific FIPS 197 compliance for your data protection needs.
Apricorn vs Integral Secure Drive
USB version speed
You should look at the USB version first. The Apricorn Aegis Secure Key 3NX uses USB 3.1. This interface offers higher potential bandwidth than older standards. The Integral Courier-197 relies on USB 3.0. While both are SuperSpeed interfaces, USB 3.1 provides a slight technical edge for data transfer rates. If you move large encrypted files often, the newer connection on the Apricorn unit may reduce wait times. The Integral drive is still fast, but the Apricorn has the more modern specification for throughput.
security compliance level
Both drives meet strict government standards, but they differ in certification depth. The Apricorn model achieves FIPS 140-2 Level 3. This is a high assurance standard for cryptographic modules. The Integral drive is certified to FIPS 197. This standard covers the Advanced Encryption Standard itself, but does not denote the same module testing level as FIPS 140-2. For maximum security validation, the Apricorn specification is more rigorous. The Integral drive provides strong encryption, but the Apricorn offers a higher tier of compliance for sensitive environments.
physical dimensions
Size matters for portability. The Integral drive has specific measurements listed: 0.39 inches wide, 0.87 inches high, and 2.76 inches long. It also weighs 0.35 ounces. This data helps you plan your carry case or pocket space. The Apricorn product data does not list physical dimensions or weight. You cannot compare the form factor directly from the available specs. The Integral drive gives you clear size information, making it easier to judge if it fits your gear. The Apricorn size remains unknown from this data set.
storage capacity options
Check the capacity for your needs. The Integral Courier-197 is explicitly listed with a 32GB size option in its attributes, though the title mentions 8GB. This suggests multiple capacity choices might be available or the specific unit varies. The Apricorn Aegis Secure Key 3NX is listed with the model ASK3-NX-8GB, indicating an 8GB capacity. If you need more than 8GB, the Integral drive offers a larger option based on the 32GB spec. The Apricorn data points to a smaller standard size.
security features clarity
Both drives use 256-bit AES encryption without software installation. The Integral drive lists specific security behaviors like auto-lock and brute-force protection. It erases data after six failed attempts. The Apricorn data confirms 256-Bit AES XTS encryption and FIPS 140-2 Level 3. It does not detail the auto-lock or brute-force mechanics in the provided text. Both offer hardware encryption. The Integral description provides more explicit detail on how the security acts during failed access. The Apricorn relies on its high-level certification to imply robust protection.
Choose your secure drive today
Users needing the latest USB 3.1 interface
The Apricorn Aegis Secure Key 3NX supports USB 3.1. This version offers higher bandwidth potential than USB 3.0. You benefit from faster data transfer rates for large encrypted files. The drive also meets FIPS 140-2 Level 3 standards. This certification ensures strict compliance for high-security government or enterprise environments requiring rigorous validation.
Buyers wanting auto-lock and brute-force protection
The Integral Courier-197 includes automatic locking features. It secures data when removed from a host or during screen savers. It also protects against brute-force attacks by erasing keys after six failed attempts. This hardware-level security ensures your 256-bit AES encrypted data remains safe without requiring manual intervention each time.
Those preferring FIPS 197 certification standards
The Integral drive is certified to FIPS 197. This standard specifically covers encryption algorithms approved by the U.S. Government. You get peace of mind knowing the encryption method meets specific federal requirements. The drive uses mandatory 256-bit hardware encryption, ensuring all stored data is protected against unauthorized access without software installation.
The products compared
Apricorn Aegis Secure Key 3NX Encrypted Drive
Best for: FIPS certified small file security
- USB Version
- USB 3.1
- Security Standard
- 256-Bit AES XTS, FIPS 140-2 Level 3
- Pack Quantity
- 1
- Security Features
- 256-Bit AES Encryption, FIPS 140-2 Level 3
View on Amazon: Apricorn Aegis Secure Key 3NX Encrypted Drive Affiliate link
The Apricorn Aegis Secure Key 3NX is an 8GB USB 3.1 flash drive focused on hardware-level security. It uses 256-bit AES XTS encryption and meets FIPS 140-2 Level 3 standards. You do not need special software to use it. The black drive offers reliable protection for sensitive files. It suits users who need strong, standalone encryption without installing drivers on every computer.
Pros
- 256-bit AES XTS hardware encryption
- FIPS 140-2 Level 3 compliance
- USB 3.1 interface for faster transfers
- No software installation required
Cons
- Only 8GB storage capacity
- Pre-owned condition may affect cosmetic appearance
- Limited capacity for large media files
Good fit if
- You need FIPS 140-2 Level 3 certified security
- You want encryption without installing software
- You only need to store small sensitive files
Skip if
- You require more than 8GB of space
- You prefer new, unopened retail packaging
- You need high-speed video storage
Verdict: Apricorn Aegis Secure Key 3NX 8GB delivers certified hardware encryption for small, critical files. It fits professionals who prioritize security standards over large storage capacity.
Integral Courier-197 Encrypted USB 3.0 Drive
Best for: Small confidential files requiring FIPS 197 compliance
- Storage Capacity
- 8 GB
- USB Version
- USB 3.0
- Security Standard
- FIPS 197, AES 256-bit
- Size
- 32GB
- Security Features
- 256-Bit AES Encryption, FIPS 197
- Dimensions
- 2.76 × 0.39 × 0.87 inches
View on Amazon: Integral Courier-197 Encrypted USB 3.0 Drive Affiliate link
The Integral Courier-197 is a USB 3.0 flash drive with mandatory 256-bit AES hardware encryption. It holds 8 GB of data and meets FIPS 197 standards. The drive locks automatically when disconnected. It requires no software installation. This compact drive suits users needing basic government-compliant security for small files on Windows or Mac systems.
Pros
- Mandatory 256-bit AES hardware encryption
- FIPS 197 certified security standard
- USB 3.0 SuperSpeed transfers
- Auto-lock when removed from host
- Zero footprint, no software needed
Cons
- Only 8 GB storage capacity
- No included software management tools
- Small 8 GB limit for large files
Good fit if
- You need FIPS 197 compliance
- You store small confidential files
- You want no software installation
Skip if
- You require more than 8 GB
- You need large file storage
- You prefer software-based management
Verdict: Integral 8GB Courier-197 USB 3.0 Encrypted Drive offers essential hardware encryption for small data sets. It fits users who prioritize FIPS 197 compliance over high capacity.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | Apricorn Aegis Secure Key 3NX Encrypted Drive | Integral Courier-197 Encrypted USB 3.0 Drive |
|---|---|---|
| Storage Capacity | not stated | 8 GB |
| USB Version | USB 3.1 | USB 3.0 |
| Security Standard | 256-Bit AES XTS, FIPS 140-2 Level 3 | FIPS 197, AES 256-bit |
| Pack Quantity | 1 | not stated |
| Size | not stated | 32GB |
| Security Features | 256-Bit AES Encryption, FIPS 140-2 Level 3 | 256-Bit AES Encryption, FIPS 197 |
| Dimensions | not stated | 2.76 × 0.39 × 0.87 inches |
| Weight | not stated | 0.35 ounces |
| Color | Black | blue |
| Model | ASK3-NX-8GB | INFD8GCOU3.0-197 |
Frequently asked questions
Does Apricorn use a newer USB standard than Integral?
Yes. The Apricorn Aegis Secure Key 3NX features USB 3.1 connectivity. This interface provides higher potential bandwidth compared to older standards. The Integral Courier-197 uses USB 3.0. While both support SuperSpeed transfers, the Apricorn drive offers a more recent connection type for improved data movement.
What security certifications do these encrypted drives hold?
Both drives include 256-bit AES encryption for data protection. The Apricorn model meets FIPS 140-2 Level 3 standards. This is a rigorous government certification for security modules. The Integral drive complies with FIPS 197. This standard specifically validates the AES encryption algorithm itself for handling sensitive information.
Which drive is better for small critical files?
The Apricorn Aegis Secure Key 3NX is designed for small, critical files. It delivers certified hardware encryption suitable for professionals who prioritize security standards over large storage capacity. Its 8GB size fits specific compliance needs. This makes it a focused choice for securing essential documents rather than bulk media.
Is the Integral drive available in larger capacities?
The data lists the Integral Courier-197 in a 32GB size option. This offers more storage than the 8GB Apricorn model. It fits users who need FIPS 197 compliance but require extra space for small data sets. The drive maintains its encrypted security while providing additional room for your files.
Do both brands offer hardware-based encryption?
Yes. Both Apricorn and Integral provide hardware-encrypted USB drives. This means the encryption happens on the device itself, not just via software on your computer. Both models use 256-bit AES encryption. This ensures your data remains protected even if the drive is lost or stolen, independent of your host system.
What are the physical dimensions of the Integral drive?
The Integral Courier-197 measures 2.76 inches in length, 0.87 inches in height, and 0.39 inches in width. It weighs 0.35 ounces. These compact dimensions make it easy to carry on a keychain or in a pocket. The blue color adds a visual distinction for quick identification among other drives.
Can I use these drives for government compliant work?
Both drives support government-approved security standards. The Apricorn model achieves FIPS 140-2 Level 3, which is a high-level certification. The Integral drive meets FIPS 197, validating its encryption method. If your work requires strict adherence to these specific federal standards, either drive can help you maintain compliance for sensitive data.

